Tue, Sep 24, 6:21 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / DAZ|Studio

Welcome to the DAZ|Studio Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny Forum Coordinators: Guardian_Angel_671, Daddyo3d

DAZ|Studio F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 23 1:55 pm)

Subject: The "X" Factor Redux -- Advice?

l8sho ( ) posted Tue, 17 March 2009 at 12:23 PM · edited Tue, 24 September 2024 at 6:17 AM

About a month ago, there was a long, lively thread on here about how certain artists give their renders that mysterious "X" factor. I'm new to this whole world, and while I found the discussion to be interesting, my current ambitions are far less, well, ambitious -- and esoteric. I'm trying to get as close as possible to some form of photorealism. I'm thinking simple backdrops and lighting that is no more dramatic than you might find in a Nylon magazine or get from your own Canon Coolpix Camera flash. Art and, to some degree, editorializing are not part of the process for me yet. I'm simply hoping to try and get renders as close to looking "real" as possible. I know there's been some debate here as to whether that's possible, but believe me, visiting this site for the first time I was shocked at how convincing some of these renders are. I'm certain that outside of this context, the average person would certainly be made to look twice at the very least at some of these images. (Shout out to RGUS!) I just want to try to get to that level. To wit, I have some questions/concerns:

1. I'm using V4 with skins and morphs, blah, blah, blah. I bought a few nice character outfits -- more than I can afford. I still have a lot of problems with poke through. I use the morphs to try and adjust, but it's often a tedious process with fairly mediocre results. Is that just the way it goes, or am I missing some important trick of the trade?

2) When I render, there often appears to be a painterly quality to the images, as if I'm seeing vague brushstrokes. Any tips on making that less obvious or is it just lighting?