Fri, Sep 20, 9:22 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Vue

Welcome to the Vue Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny, TheBryster

Vue F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 20 5:40 am)

Subject: "Masking" in Vue 4???

kruzr ( ) posted Wed, 03 October 2001 at 6:08 PM · edited Fri, 20 September 2024 at 7:45 AM

'Afternoon all, I have been trying to get this information from Vue 4's tech support, but trying to get anything from them has been like pulling teeth from a toothless person. I couldn't find any info anywhere else either, so I figured I would try here. 1st, I may as well tell you that I'm new to Vue d'Esprit, as I've only had it one week. My question is: I thought I read somewhere, ( prior to purchasing ), that you could use "Masks" in Vue 4? I'm finding nothing pertaining to this subject anywhere. What I would like to know is, can I apply a different Material or Texture to different spot areas of an object, with the use of a "Mask"? If this is not possible, is there any other way of doing this task, in specific areas on an object? I hope I didn't make a mistake by purchasing "Vue 4", instead of maybe "World Builder"? I've been using ZBrush for about nine months now, & I'm used to being able to "Paint" on different Materials & Colors, on different areas of an object. Thanks in advance for any information or suggestions & have a good one . . . Mark.

agiel ( ) posted Wed, 03 October 2001 at 6:38 PM

I am not aware of anything like this. The only way to do this would be to edit your 3d object with a modeler (amapi or even poser) and assign different groups or materials to the areas you want to use. Then back to vue, you can set the materials you want using the material summary.

tradivoro ( ) posted Wed, 03 October 2001 at 7:00 PM