Tue, Oct 1, 7:43 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Vue

Welcome to the Vue Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny, TheBryster

Vue F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 26 4:27 pm)

Subject: Pre-Purchase questions, Platform, License, RenderFfarm, Pro issues.

operaguy ( ) posted Thu, 18 November 2004 at 1:46 PM · edited Wed, 07 August 2024 at 11:56 AM

Greetings, Vue Community (sorry about the double posts, i have deleted them).

I want to purchase Vue/Mover to work with it and Poser in close cooperation for an ambitious animation project. It consists of three foci: Characters in dialogue in static interior and exterior settings; flyover of certain California terrain generated with help of DEM; Exterior cityscape of part of Los Angeles.

I have lots of experience in Poser, but none in Vue.

May I ask the forum for response and opinions on the following:

1. I desire the global illumination/radiosity/HDRI functionallity of 5 (and that is why I have initially rejected the idea of Vue4Pro with Mover), but am worried I will be held back in render speed because it is not "Pro". When will 5 pro be out, and can I do the Mover5 net render with Vue5 non-pro (even if at lower speed) while I await Vue5Pro?

2. Is Mover5 included with Vue5 new purchase at $249?

3. I have two Macs with dual processor, a G4 and a G5. Can I make them take up a total of 4 render nodes? I assume the two processors in one machine each would render a different frame? (I want independant frames, of course, in TIFF or TGA) And is this scheme efficient, or do the two ongoing renders on one machine impede each other?

4. On a dual-processor G5 1.8 with lotsa RAM, can I be modeling/creating/Posering and also have it be a node on the renderfarm?

5. I also have two pretty good single processor PCs. Does a cross-platform renderfarm situation with Mover5 work?