Mon, Oct 21, 11:30 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Community Center

Welcome to the Community Center Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny Forum Coordinators: Anim8dtoon

Community Center F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Oct 21 3:28 pm)

Forum news, updates, events, etc. Please sitemail any notices or questions for the staff to the Forum Moderators.

Subject: Internet Hacking Notice!

kamilche ( ) posted Sat, 23 June 2001 at 3:52 PM · edited Mon, 21 October 2024 at 11:24 PM

I opened my Visa bank statements today, and found out that someone has put $1200 of unauthorized charges on one of my cards. What makes this very disturbing, is I'm a computer programmer, and am aware of the risk. I am behind a firewall, and only post credit card info to properly secure sites. I have been purchasing a lot of online models and software lately for the game, from Curious Labs, Daz3D, BBay, and Renderosity. One of those sites might not be secure. Also - there was a bug fix recently for Windows Media Player, where if you were viewing AVI files on someone's web site, that web site owner could do anything to your machine - cause programs to run, delete files, transmit data across the Internet, whatever. I've come to the conclusion that the Windows operating system is one large virus. What in the hell is the Windows media player doing launching other programs in the first place? In all my years of buying stuff on the Internet, this has never happened before - but it's only gonna get worse, folks. I suggest to all my game players that they never purchase things online or over the phone with a credit card, ever again. If it happened to a computer programmer who is aware of the risk, behind firewalls, who is paranoid of viruses, and never launches executables or attachments in email - it can happen to you.

adh3d ( ) posted Sat, 23 June 2001 at 3:57 PM