Fri, Sep 27, 2:25 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Vue

Welcome to the Vue Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny, TheBryster

Vue F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 26 4:27 pm)

Subject: anyone else hate the Advanced Function Editor?

JoeBlack ( ) posted Wed, 07 June 2006 at 7:18 PM · edited Fri, 27 September 2024 at 2:25 AM

I consider myself a Vue veteran, I've been using Vue for at least 5 years, and I'm fairly good at figuring out software interfaces quickly in general. But Vue 5 Infinite's Advanced Function Editor has to be THE worst interface I've ever seen. It talks about nodes....what the smeg are those? Sorry, I forgot to get my degree in advanced mathematics. For crying out loud, all I want to do is create/apply a colour/bump function...yet this damn Editor makes it look like I'm trying to navigate a black hole or something. I figured out most of Lightwave 8 in a matter of a few days....but Vue 5's Function Editor is still perplexing me, 5 months later!

I guess this post has no point, I'm just venting. But I really do hate that bloody interface.

Nodes....nodes....nodes????

JoeBlack

jc ( ) posted Wed, 07 June 2006 at 7:30 PM · edited Wed, 07 June 2006 at 7:34 PM

I love that Function Editor, lol.

Never found an easier way to write computer graphics programs - without writing computer graphics programs. That's what the Function Editor lets you do, create shaders with as much power as if you were writing them in code, without knowing how to code!

Considering the creative power, my opinion is that they made it  pretty easy. Not saying there's no learning curve or that it's simple - just that it's much easier than writing the code that would give you the same creative power.