Tue, Sep 24, 8:29 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Community Center

Welcome to the Community Center Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny Forum Coordinators: Anim8dtoon

Community Center F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 23 7:15 am)

Forum news, updates, events, etc. Please sitemail any notices or questions for the staff to the Forum Moderators.

Subject: Username Change Feature???

DaemonAlchemist ( ) posted Tue, 07 November 2006 at 7:18 PM

As a proficient PHP/MySQL programmer, I have to say that this is pretty outrageous.  Renderosity already has an "Edit Profile" page, and it would take all of fifteen minutes to enhance that page to allow username changes.  Checking for duplicate usernames is also trivial.  Now, if the username is used as a key in other database tables as jevans69 suggests, then the programmers should be reprimanded.  Also, if the username is stored in more than one place (gallery,store, freestuff, etc.), then this site is pretty poorly designed to begin with.

If you're so concerned about people abusing this service, then just allow a maximum number of username changes.

There's no excuse for charging $24.95 for a service that just about every other website in the entire internet does for free.

Ardiva ( ) posted Tue, 07 November 2006 at 7:36 PM

"If you're so concerned about people abusing this service, then just allow a maximum number of username changes.

There's no excuse for charging $24.95 for a service that just about every other website in the entire internet does for free."

Here here!!

Where in the heck is the "Quotes" feature???  THIS is something that is needed more!

Lucie ( ) posted Tue, 07 November 2006 at 7:50 PM

It's under each post in the thread, right under the signature...

Lucie
finfond.net
finfond.net (store)

Ardiva ( ) posted Tue, 07 November 2006 at 9:12 PM

Quote - It's under each post in the thread, right under the signature...

DUH..thanks, Lucie!  Getting old is the pits!!