Sun, Sep 22, 5:22 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / DAZ|Studio

Welcome to the DAZ|Studio Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny Forum Coordinators: Guardian_Angel_671, Daddyo3d

DAZ|Studio F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 21 8:54 am)

Subject: How do I get good object ground shadows in DS?

UVDan ( ) posted Thu, 15 November 2007 at 10:07 PM · edited Sun, 22 September 2024 at 5:17 AM
Forum Moderator

**Seriously, how do I get good ground shadows? **

Free men do not ask permission to bear arms!!

AnnieD ( ) posted Thu, 15 November 2007 at 10:40 PM

I'd like to know the same thing..  :D

“For those who believe, no proof is necessary. For those who don't believe, no proof is possible.”

[Stuart Chase]

Heztia ( ) posted Fri, 16 November 2007 at 1:06 AM

I'm still learning shadows but what I've come to find is having the lights in my scene parented to a null on the floor.  Also for me the light that creates the shadow is a spotlight and is set at a higher value then the other lights.  I don't know if I explained this right or if it anwsers your question as I said I'm still working on shadows myself :0)

"KnowThyself And Be Ture, Let Karma Do The Rest"
Mystic Images Freebies

JenX ( ) posted Fri, 16 November 2007 at 3:08 AM

In general, when lighting a scene, I find Distant Lights more efficient and work better than spotlights.  Another tip.....Play with your shadow softness and bias.  In nature, rarely is your shadow hard on the edge.  Never is your shadow the same from one light to another...for instance, right now, there's a light on in my living room, uncovered lightbulb, and there's a light on in the stairwell, covered lightbulb.  The shadows in my living room are harsh and ugly.  The shadows in the stairwell are soft and subdued. 

Sitemail | Freestuff | Craftythings | Youtube|

Knowledge is knowing a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it into a fruit salad.

UVDan ( ) posted Fri, 16 November 2007 at 4:05 AM · edited Fri, 16 November 2007 at 4:05 AM
Forum Moderator