Wed, Sep 25, 8:24 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / DAZ|Studio

Welcome to the DAZ|Studio Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny Forum Coordinators: Guardian_Angel_671, Daddyo3d

DAZ|Studio F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 24 6:54 am)

Subject: Character Creation

Director12 ( ) posted Sat, 03 April 2010 at 6:31 AM · edited Wed, 25 September 2024 at 8:23 AM

Hello Everyone,
I am looking for some help with character creation, all help is GREATLY appreciated.  Ok here we go.
I've created a character in DAZStudio Advanced 3 and I want to fine tune her.  While creating her my area had a power outage and I wasn't able to save her but I did export her to an obj. file before the outage.  She had been Morphed loaded.  When I bring the Obj file back into DAZ to fine tune her I am not able to use the Morphs.  all that is available is the xyz plane.  I've tried importing my character into Poser 2010 to add V4 bones but that is turning out not so good.  I'm still learning the software.  Should my character have been saved as an OBJ file? or another format?  I've tried to export her as a CR2 file but DAZ crashes every time I attempt this.  What am I doing wrong? Can anyone help with this or direct to some helpful links for a proper work flow with character creation.  Thanks,
Director12 

RHaseltine ( ) posted Sat, 03 April 2010 at 8:36 AM

The OBJ file doesn't contain rigging information. You should be able to import the OBJ as a morph for V4 if you have the Morph Loader plugin (available on its own or as part of the Figure Setup Tools - and since you are trying to export as CR2 it sounds as if you already have those). Load V4, select any part, go to the Edit menu and you should have an entry for Morph Loader; choose the same preset  as you used for exporting the OBJ, Try the default Load morphs for, and if that gives an error try Primary node (using vertex list only).