Sun, Oct 6, 6:27 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Blender

Welcome to the Blender Forum

Forum Moderators: Lobo3433 Forum Coordinators: LuxXeon

Blender F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 29 9:06 pm)

Welcome to the Blender Forum!

Your place to learn about Blender, ask questions,
   exchange ideas, and interact with the other Blender users!

Gallery | Freestuff | Tutorials

Visit the Renderosity MarketPlace. Your source for digital art content!

Subject: Fitting a round object to a square face

false1 ( ) posted Fri, 17 April 2015 at 12:12 PM · edited Sun, 06 October 2024 at 5:54 AM

Hi folks, Blender noob here. I've been working with Blender for a few weeks and also learning 3D for the first time. Kind of a double noob I guess.

I've been working on this model and it's almost complete. You can see it has the subsurface and mirror modifiers as well as the control cage for reference.

Having trouble figuring out what to do with the eyes. In the pictured version I just created a separate cylinder and dropped it into place. It looks fine but I really wanted to create the model as a single object. I think it needs to be a single object in order to be printed out on the 3D printer at my university. I tried insetting the large face that the eye is attached to and extruding it out but the extra edges made that face uneven. I still have a lot of problems with edges distorting or breaking the roundness of the model.

I wonder if anyone can give any insights as to how they might approach the problem?

file_5ef059938ba799aaa845e1c2e8a762bd.pn

My DeviantArt Gallery

My Website

Lobo3433 ( ) posted Fri, 17 April 2015 at 12:38 PM
Forum Moderator

Hello false1