Sat, Aug 3, 12:21 PM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Poser - OFFICIAL

Welcome to the Poser - OFFICIAL Forum

Forum Coordinators: RedPhantom

Poser - OFFICIAL F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Aug 03 7:14 am)

Subject: What are we called?

Chippsyann ( ) posted Wed, 02 August 2006 at 12:08 PM · edited Thu, 25 July 2024 at 8:30 PM

This could be a simple question or it could be a loaded one, but anyway; how would you describe the type of art we create with Poser? And what medium would you say we use?

A few days ago I was asked these questions by a traditional artist; “by traditional I mean paints and brushes, drawing pencils and so forth” up till now I thought that I was a digital or graphic artist, using a digital medium, but now after my interrogation,  I’m wondering is there another title we go by?

(Btw) I started out as a traditional artist, and I still hold true to it. It’s the diversity between mediums that keep my creative energy high.  

Tyger_purr ( ) posted Wed, 02 August 2006 at 12:27 PM

as to what poser is/does I have found that the best quick answer is "animation" (even though i rarely do any animation) however if i am talking with someone about it i will describe it as  "virtual photography" and animation.

as for what i call myself....I'm an artist.

My Homepage - Free stuff and Galleries

MachineClaw ( ) posted Wed, 02 August 2006 at 12:28 PM

Digital art is what I call my work.  Sometimes it's Digital mixed media depending on if I've scaned colored in the computer or done in computer and printed out and painted over it, then I call it mixed media.

Most of the trade magazines that deal with photoshop, 3d, painter et al call it Digital artwork.

http://www.ballisticpublishing.com/books/expose2/

Expose books call it ""EXPOSÉ 2 is the second edition of the industry's most recognized annual art book celebrating the creative talents of digital artists worldwide."

of course sometimes I call it doodling in my Barbie and Ken program.  But I'm often called a jerk.