Sun, Sep 22, 9:32 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Community Center

Welcome to the Community Center Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny Forum Coordinators: Anim8dtoon

Community Center F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 19 8:42 pm)

Forum news, updates, events, etc. Please sitemail any notices or questions for the staff to the Forum Moderators.

Subject: Public Trials, language - some questions

STORM3 ( ) posted Fri, 22 September 2000 at 7:46 PM · edited Sun, 22 September 2024 at 9:31 AM

This is a serious request. Tim Perhaps you could post a list of "banned" words so we all know exactly what is what. You see there is a bit of a problem here. I am a Broadsheet Journalist in Ireland and until a few years ago the word "crap" was a no no as regards print and live broadcasts. But then the Taoiseach (Primeminister) of Ireland at the time, Albert Reynolds, used the word in an international live broadcast. Since it could not be edited out, it went out, and has since then entered common usage in the newspapers and live media. It and other words are now acceptable in the media in Ireland, the UK and other English-speaking counties. Now I am not sure about its media acceptability in the USA, but since this is an international site with many many non-US members, perhaps you could clarify which version of the English Language we should perfect so as to be fully compliant with your TOS and if this version is any different to the media-acceptable and publicly acceptable language in the USA. Come to think of it you might have to do the same for Mexican and a few other languages as well. On the business of "trials" it has been a long time since I have witnessed anything approaching the "Show Trial" phenomenon common under Stalin and some later Communist leaders who sent so many artists and writers to rot in the Gulags. The last place I expected to see the revival of "Show Trials" was on a USA-based Graphic Arts Internet Site. In fact I doubt if the word trial can be legally applied to th