Fri, Sep 20, 9:36 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / DAZ|Studio

Welcome to the DAZ|Studio Forum

Forum Moderators: wheatpenny Forum Coordinators: Guardian_Angel_671, Daddyo3d

DAZ|Studio F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 20 4:16 am)

Subject: -- Helping Daz Studio Newbies --

Agent0013 ( ) posted Sun, 17 June 2012 at 5:06 PM

Quote - Whats the best realistic lighting setup for Daz that would incorporate realism with render time thanks?

As a new user I cannot be sure about this; however, I like to create my own lighting and position it to create interesting shadows. The contrast of light and dark is a great way to add dramatic atmosphere to a scene. I learned this long ago when I was in art classes for painting and drawing. Yes, I am an artist in other mediums besides  the digital ones.

For Shadowing in DAZ Studio I turn on the Raytraced and fiddle with the setting a small amount. You won't see these shadows during the scene composing phase so set you render size to a small image to test render and see if the shadows look the way you want them. When you have everything looking the way you want, reset the render size to the size you want your final image or animation to be and then render. Understand that the size of an image or frame determines how long the rendering will take. Also know that  rendering takes longer when you use extreme light and dark colors or you have a very complicated scene to render. If you have a 64 bit operating system on your computer and more that 2 gigabytes of RAM, you can speed up your render time by having the 64 bit version of DAZ Studio 4 installed. It will access more that 2 gigabytes of RAM while the 32 bit version only accesses 2 gigabytes.

I hope this is helpful. If not, I suggest looking for tutorials on lighting for DAZ Studio.

Corvus4000 ( ) posted Sun, 17 June 2012 at 5:22 PM

Thanks for the information so best to do some tweaking on a much smaller render size great idea!