Wed, Sep 18, 11:51 AM CDT

Renderosity Forums / Blender

Welcome to the Blender Forum

Forum Moderators: Lobo3433 Forum Coordinators: LuxXeon

Blender F.A.Q (Last Updated: 2024 Sep 15 9:06 pm)

Welcome to the Blender Forum!

Your place to learn about Blender, ask questions,
   exchange ideas, and interact with the other Blender users!

Gallery | Freestuff | Tutorials

Visit the Renderosity MarketPlace. Your source for digital art content!

Subject: Blender 2.6 UV mapping, materials, image maps, and textures

Agent0013 ( ) posted Mon, 13 August 2012 at 4:16 PM · edited Sat, 03 August 2024 at 3:09 AM

First up, my version of Blender is 2.61. With that in mind, any advice concerning how to do UV mapping, applying materials and textures, and mapping image maps to my models will be greatly appreciated. I am new to the digital art community, having only been practicing it for about a year. I have several programs installed on my computer, and have learned quite a lot about most of them. 

Now I wish to get into the finishing aspects of modelling, which includes UV mapping and the related tasks. With that knowledge I will be able to create complete models and upload them. It is my plan to become a creator/vendor for websites such as Renderosity. Eventually I plan to have my own website where I can sell exclusive models I create, and possibly those created by others who wish to do so on my website.

I would like to be directed to links where I can find relevant information concerning UV mapping and application of materials, textures, and image maps in Blender 2,6+. Anything that is for earlier versions will most likely not be of use to me. I would also like to hear from those of you who can provide useful tips and advice on the subject.